NASA’s LCROSS Mission to Bomb The Moon

A computer simulation of the rocket targeting the impact site.

A computer simulation of the rocket targeting the impact site.


The LCROSS (Lunar CRater Observing and Sensing Satellite) mission sent a missile traveling at twice the speed of a bullet to blast a hole in the lunar surface near the moon’s South pole.
This isn’t a declaration of intergalactic war: The missile hit the lunar surface at the moon’s South pole, an area scientists estimate may have billions of tons of trapped ice
The actual impact started at 7:30 am EDT/4:30 am PDT (11:30 UT), according to NASA.
The Centaur rocket striked first, transforming 2200 kg of mass and 10 billion joules of kinetic energy into a blinding flash of heat and light. Researchers expected the impact to throw up a plume of debris as high as 10 km.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s